1942 Vintage World War II Harley-Davidson

I want one of these.    Gimme one of these over almost anything.    Pure classic, the bike that won the war:

It’s a spitfire with a Rolls Royce Engine.   It’s a P-51 Mustang.   It’s a sherman Tank.    Beautiful Bike with an awesome history.

5 Responses to “1942 Vintage World War II Harley-Davidson”

  1. You know, I hate to say this but, yes, the WLA is way better than the BSA M20 – just like the Jeep was better than its (various) Brit counterparts. I sat on a WLA for tyhe first time at the Harley Museum in Milwaukee last October (what a fantastic place!) and it felt great. But I really would have loved a go on an XA (the flat twin BMW copy)!

  2. Trevor Hilton Says:

    There’s just something about the WLA 45 that gets me, too. I don’t know what it is, but I just love those things.

  3. both great bikes.

    Hard to find old BSA’s in the states. People who own em know what they have and don’t give em up too often. Gorgeous bikes!

  4. I don’t know what it is either. I think in part is its a work bike from a generation who knew how to work, and banded together to a common goal. The WLA seemed to be an icon of that. Hah, now that I think on it, who am I kidding… I’m a 41 year old 12 year old who just wants to play army! thats probably more accurate.

  5. Trevor Hilton Says:

    I’m a 43 year old teenager. Don’t take my word for it, just ask my wife! I’d love a WLA, but, my Sportster 883 cruises 66 just fine.

Leave a Reply

